UIP elects its board and discusses key topics on new realities which rail freight is facing

At its 67th General Assembly (GA), UIP elected its Board for the next three years’ term.

Amsterdam, May 17th, 2017 Dr. Heiko Fischer, CEO of VTG will continue to act as President and Johannes Mansbart, CEO of GATX Rail Europe and Per-Anders Benthin, CEO of TRANSWAGGON as Vice-Presidents. Two new members, Mr. Adam Butryn, Commercial Director, GATX Rail Poland and Mr. Daniel DiStefano, President of NACCO at CIT Group Inc are joining the Board replacing Mr. Jürgen Bauer et Dr. Eckart Lehmann. President Heiko Fischer used the opportunity to “thank those leaving for their involvement and dedication and to welcome the new members of the Executive Board”.

The UIP Conference following the GA discussed then key topics on new realities which rail freight is facing. Starting from the changes in Digitalisation and Innovation to the impact of the 4th Railway Package on the European framework, UIP members exchanged views on a common strategy and the best way forward. The Conference offered an open platform to discuss the challenges in rail freight transportation and the need for collaborative approaches but also political and financial support at Member State and EU levels. The key messages carried through the discussions are summarised below.